Tommy James And The Shondells ‎– Hanky Panky (LP 1966)

Tommy James And The Shondells ‎– Hanky Panky (LP Roulette ‎– R25336, Roulette / R-25336, Jul. 1966).
Producer: Bob Mack.
Genre: Pop rock, garage rock
Hanky Panky ” is the band’s debut album Tommy James and The Shondells and was released in July 1966. He arrived at No. 46 on the Billboard 200. The album featured two singles that preceded it , “Hanky Panky”, which reached No. 1 on the Billboard Hot 100 and “Say I Am,” which reached No. 21.
Tommy James, born Thomas Gregory Jackson, April 29, 1947, Dayton, Ohio / USA, is a singer, musician, songwriter and North American producer who at twelve, formed his first band, called Tom and The Tornados. In 1963, they changed the name to The Shondells.
In 1964, The Shondells recorded the theme “Hanky Panky”, written by Jeff Barry and Ellie Greenwich. The song became a hit locally, but was quickly forgotten. However, in 1965 the theme was again played on the radio and the song was a big hit in the city. Tommy then went to New York and sold the original master of “Hanky Panky” to Roulette Records. In late summer 1966, it was the biggest selling single of the country.
The biography of the group is already inserted into this blog.
A1 Hanky Panky (Ellie Greenwich, Jeff Barry) 2:59
A2 I’ll Go Crazy (James Brown) 2:18
A3 I’m So Proud (Curtis Mayfield) 3:31
A4 The Lover (George Magura, Mike Vale) 2:05
A5 Love Makes The World Go Round (Deon Jackson) 2:25
A6 Good Lovin’ (Arthur Resnick, Rudy Clark) 2:20
B1 Say I Am (Barbara Tomsco, George Tomsco) 2:37
B2 Cleo’s Mood (Junior Walker, Willie Woods) 2:20
B3 Don’t Throw Our Love Away (Tommy James and The Shondells) 2:40
B4 Shake A Tail Feather (Andre Williams, Otha Hayes, Verlie Rice) 2:37
B5 Soul Searchin’ Baby (Tommy James and The Shondells) 2:35
B6 Lots Of Pretty Girls (Larry Rush, Paul Leka) 2:13
Guitar: Joseph Kessler
Baixo, Piano, Sax Tenor, Vibrafone: George Magura
Clarinet, Drums, Saxophone: Vincent Pietropaoli
Organ, Piano: Ron Rosman
Low: Mike Vale