The Kinks ‎– The Kinks In Germany (LP 1965)


The Kinks ‎– The Kinks In Germany (LP Pye Records ‎– LDVS 17077 P, nov. 1965).
Producer: Shel Talmy.
Genre: Rock ‘n’ Roll, Pop Rock
The Kinks in Germany ” was a great album released on the German market as the band made a tour of the country in October 1965 and managed to reach the charts hits for 6 weeks in Germany.
This was the second album from Kinks released in that country, but in reality is a studio build that met all of two British EPs tracks, Kinksize Session and kwyet kinks that had not yet been launched in Germany before, with both sides his two most recent singles, Set Me Free / I Need You and See My Friends / Never Met A Girl Like You Before. The title of the “A” side of the first single was changed to “Set Me Free Little Girl” and “B” side of the latter, was shortened to “A Girl Like You.”
The LP brings together some of the greatest hits of the time. Despite the title of the album, all the tracks were recorded in studios in England, but probably the pictures of the covers were taken during their stay in Germany.
As stated in the liner notes, although Pye logo is on the front cover of the LP, it was also published by Vogue Schallplatten, as can be seen on the back cover (with the same reference: Pye Records – LOV 17077 P and Vogue Schallplatten – LOV 17077 P).
However, some think that this was a live album, but desengane NOW! No, it is a studio compilation.
The Kinks were a British rock band formed in Muswell Hill, north London, in 1963, Ray Davies, Dave Davies and Pete Quaife. The biography of this outstanding group already inserted into this blog.
Tracks / Tracklist:
A1 A Well Respected Man
A2 Such A Shame
A3 Wait Till The Summer Comes Along
A4 Don’t You Fret
A5 I Need You
A6 Set Me Free Little Girl
B1 Louie Louie
B2 I Gotta Go Now
B3 I’ve Got That Feeling
B4 Things Are Getting Better
B5 A Girl Like You
B6 See My Friends
Musicians / Personnel:
The first and most famous formation was composed by Ray Davies (rhythm guitar, piano, vocalist and main songwriter), Dave Davies (songwriter, lead guitar and vocals), Pete Quaife (bass, backing vocals / backing vocals) and Mick Avory (drums and percussion).
Compositions of: Davies (track / tracks: A1 to A5, B2 to B6), Berry (track / track: B1).