Joan Baez ‎– Joan Baez (LP 1960)



Joan Baez ‎– Joan Baez (LP Vanguard ‎– VSD 2077, 1960)
Producer: Maynard Solomon.
Genre: Folk Rock.
“Joan Baez” is the self-titled debut album by folk singer Joan Baez . The disc was recorded in the summer of 1960 and released in October of that year. The LP features 13 traditional folk songs, all sung and accompanied on guitar by Baez. His interpretation became famous and made it an instant hit with the public. In the US the album was eventually certified gold, peaking at 20 in the tables of albums and the UK, silver disc and position 9.
Joan Chandos Baez (born January 9, 1941 in Staten Island, New York), better known only by Joan Baez , it is an American singer of folk, known for its distinct vocal style and political opinions presented frontally.
The professional career Baez began in 1959 to participate in the “Newport Folk Festival” where, with 18, was the great revelation. In October 1960, Joan released by Vanguard Records her debut album, ” Joan Baez “, a collection of traditional ballads which sold moderately well, drawing attention for the quality of the repertoire and his talent on acoustic guitar, together with its beautiful soprano voice and that gave him national prominence.
The next album, “Joan Baez, Vol. 2” was released in 1961. He earned a gold record, as do “Joan Baez in Concert,” 1962. With regular performances, Joan Baez became an artistic phenomenon . In 1963, it was considered one of the most popular singers of the United States. In 1964 launches Joan Baez / 5 disc, incorporating this work a selection of popular folk songs from the United States and Latin America, especially interpretations of compositions of Brazilian musicians Villa-Lobos and North Ze.
In addition to traditional folk and protest songs, he helped promote Bob Dylan, impressed with his early compositions and including several of them in his repertoire. They ended up dating for some time, but the relationship ended in 1965. Among his biggest hits this time, highlight “We Shall Overcome,” “With God our side” or “All my trials,” among others.
Tracks / Tracklist:
A1 Silver Dagger 2:30
A2 East Virginia 3:38
A3 Fare Thee Well (Gude) 3:15
A4 House Of The Rising Sun 2:52
A5 All My Trials 4:36
A6 Wildwood Flower 2:30
A7 Donna Donna (Zeitlin, Secunda) 3:09
John Riley 3:50 B1
B2 Rake And Rambling Boy 1:52
B3 Little Moses 3:25
B4 Mary Hamilton 5:54
B5 Henry Martin 4:10
B6 Number Nine 2:47