The Yardbirds ‎– Heart Full Of Soul (LP 1965)



The Yardbirds ‎– Heart Full Of Soul (LP Capitol Records ‎– T 6139, The “6000” Series, 06 Set. 1965, Canada).
LP considered rare.
Producer – Paul White.
Genre: Blues Rock, Psychedelic Rock
Heart Full of Soul ,” the song that serves as the title of this LP was the second of three major singles of Yardbirds written by Graham Gouldman (which was not member of the group). The first was “For Your Love” and the other was “Evil Hearted You”. The main part of the subject, his soul, is the riff of fuzz guitar opening, played by Jeff Beck. There is also another version of the theme with the opening with zither, which joined as a bonus.
The use of sounds based on Indian music and sitar would in itself have the power to put the Yardbirds at the forefront of experimental rock. This had happened months before the Beatles to introduce the sitar on the theme “Norwegian Wood.”
However, Jeff Beck discovered how to approach the sound of the zither using a fuzz guitar.
“Heart Full of Soul” was a powerful song, especially when the pace suddenly accelerates a bolero canter and the melody becomes brighter. As in “For Your Love”, the use of bongos beyond the battery, torna- rhythmic and fantastic.
“Heart Full of Soul” was a successful big song of the Yardbirds, written by “Graham Gouldman” which later would have a successful career as 10CC member. The subject reached the position # 2 in the UK charts and number 9 on the Billboard Hot 100.
The Yardbirds was a rock band / British Blues, formed in Suirrey / UK in the mid-60 is considered one of the bands called “British Invasion.” His style was the English version of the blues musicians were in the US at that time.
Initially the group was called Metropolitan Blues Quartet in 1963, originated in the suburbs of London, and came to act as support band to Cyril Davies.
The original line from June to October 1963 had Keith Relf, Anthony “Top” Topham, Chris Dreja, Paul Samwell-Smith and Jim Mccarty. In October Topham guitarist left the group and in its place came another guitarist named Eric Clapton and this lineup remained until February 1965.
In late 1965, the Yardbirds began their first US tour with a couple of albums released in the US market. In June 1966, Samwell-Smith decided to leave the group to go to work as a music producer. Thus Jimmy Page came to set that same month. In late October 1966, after a tour of Texas, Jeff Beck fell out with the band and ended up leaving the quintet became a quartet with Jimmy Page taking the lead guitar and introducing his playing with the use of a wah-wah pedal.
Leaving aside the influence that the band had at the time, one of the main reasons why you remember this excellent group, was that it came out three of the most important guitarists of the English rock, Eric Clapton, Jeff Beck and Jimmy Page. Clapton was the first of these guitarists who was in the band’s lineup. But at that time, Clapton was a blues purist and therefore, when the Yardbirds began to point the way more pop, decided to leave the group. Subsequently come to be part of for a while, the band John Mayall’s Bluesbreakers and later of Cream.
Clapton was replaced by Jeff Beck, in March 1965, which introduced new knowledge of feedback, distortion and others that fit perfectly to the set.
In September 1968, new formation of the group with Jimmy Page on guitar, Robert Plant on vocals, John Paul Jones on bass and John Bonham on drums, launching as The New Yardbirds, which remained so for long. In October of the same year, this group would lead to Led Zeppelin, mainly due to disagreements for the rights of the name The Yardbirds.
On the other hand, Keith Relf, lead singer of the Yardbirds (before the “new version” with Jimmy Page), would form the folk-rock band and progressive rock called Renaissance and later Armaggeddon.
In 1992, The Yardbirds were introduced into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Hall of Fame and almost all original surviving musicians including Jeff Beck and Jimmy Page, attended the ceremony. Eric Clapton for work reasons can not attend and the wife and son of the late Keith Relf were also present.
Tracks / Tracklist:
A1 I Wish You Would 4:15
A2 A Certain Girl 2:20
A3 Good Morning Little Schoolgirl 2:46
A4 I Ain’t Got You 2:00
A5 For Your Love 2:27
A6 Got To Hurry 2:27
B1 My Girl Sloopy 5:34
B2 I Ain’t Done Wrong 3:39
B3 I’m Not Talking 2:32
B4 Heart Full Of Soul 2:27
B5 Steeled Blues 2:37
B6 Putty (In Your Arms) 2:18
C1 – Heart Full of Soul (sitar version)
Album released by Capitol / The 6000 Series in Setemdro 1965.
Musicians / Personnel:
Keith Relf – Vocals, harmonica;
Jeff Beck – guitar solo, backing vocals;
Chris Dreja – rhythm guitar;
Paul Samwell-Smith – Bass and backing vocals;
Jim McCarty – drums, percussion and backing vocals.