Crosby, Stills And Nash ‎– Crosby, Stills And Nash (LP 1969

Crosby, Stills And Nash ‎– Crosby, Stills And Nash (LP Atlantic ‎– SD 8229, 29 Maio 1969)
Produção de Stephen Stills, David Crosby, Graham Nash.
Genre: Rock, Folk, Country.
This is the first self – titled album Crosby, Stills and Nash , which undoubtedly was an exceptional achievement, containing many of the most beautiful songs that its elements had done throughout his career: ‘Long Time Gone’, ‘Suite: Judy Blue Eyes’, ‘Lady Of The Island’ or ‘Wooden Ships’. This album sold over 3 million copies worldwide. Strong lines, solid acoustic musicianship and a wonderful harmony to three voices was the perfect blend they sought and that would be enough to influence the next generation of American singers in the next decade.
Crosby, Stills And Nash was a trio of David Crosby, Stephen Stills and Graham Nash in Los Angeles, California, USA, in 1968. Each previously belonged to a different band and were successful. Crosby belonged to the Byrds. Stills was in excellent group Buffalo Springfield (with Neil Young who later would the trio make up a quartet) and Nash was a composer and guitarist of the Hollies.
By internal disagreements, Crosby left the Byrds in 1967. During the breakup of Buffalo Springfield, Stills met Crosby sometimes after some time away. In the case of Nash, he could not stand the kind of music that the Hollies were at that time, a more commercial kind. The rupture occurred when the other members of the Hollies refused to record the theme “Marrakesh Express” and preferred to record an album with songs written only by Bob Dylan (Hollies Sing Dylan in 1969). Nash left the band in August 1968 when he moved to Los Angeles and was replaced by Terry Sylvester.
The trio decided to contact some publishers and release their first LP, which came about on 29 May 1969 by the homonymous album presented here, very well received by critics and showing a style that was the union of the country and the rock. It can be said that the album was a hit instantly. Months later, Neil Young would join the group, and they would do the historical presentation in Woostock festival, in August 1969, and soon after would record the single ‘Woodstock’.
Crosby, Stills Nash and Young separated in 1971 due to disagreements between Stephen Stills and Neil Young, and all left for independent careers, although Nash and Crosby form a duo with some success and Stills create Manassas band and later Stills -Young Band. They return to play together as Crosby, Stills and Nash in 1974, when it launched the collection “So Far,” which again reached the first place among the most sold.
Since its inception the band broke up several times, but Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young always back playing together, doing some touring until the present day, but in this case without the presence of Neil Young.
Tracks / Tracklist:
A1 Suite: Judy Blue Eyes (Stephen Stills) 7:22
A2 Marrakesh Express (Graham Nash) 2:36
A3 Guinnevere (David Crosby) 4:43
A4 You Don’t Have To Cry (Stephen Stills) 2:43
A5 Pre-Road Downs (Graham Nash) 2:59
B1 Wooden Ships (David Crosby, Stephen Stills) 5:22
B2 Lady Of The Island (Graham Nash) 2:36
B3 Helplessly Hoping (Stephen Stills) 2:37
B4 Long Time Gone (David Crosby) 4:17
B5 49 Bye-Byes (Stephen Stills) 5:15